Ag Land Preservation Board

The Board works to protect viable agricultural land through the purchase of agricultural conservation easements.  The Board guides the Dauphin County program which is part of the statewide program. The Board consists of seven members including local farmers, a representative of the development community, and an elected member of a local government.

Meetings are held at the Dauphin County Agriculture and Natural Resources Center at 9:00 a.m. on the third or fourth Friday of the month.

Bob Christoff

Council on Aging

The Council assists and advises the Dauphin County Board of Commissioners in all matters relating to the Area Plan of Service for the Aging.  This includes, but is not limited to, assessing the needs of older persons, assisting in the development of the annual service plan, and developing ways to use community resources.  The Council consists of up to 19 members who have knowledge and experiences in issues important to seniors. 

Meetings are held a minimum of six times annually.


Board of Assessment Appeals

The Board of Assessment is appointed by the Dauphin County Commissioners to hear property valuation appeals, including exemption requests.  Assessments are set by determining the real property market value and applying the appropriate factor to establish the property assessment.  Property assessments are certified on November 15 of each year.  These assessments are used by taxing authorities to establish real property tax levies.  The Board of Assessment Appeals consists of three members and one solicitor. 

Meetings are held monthly as needed.

Marianne Tadych

Children & Youth Advisory Board

The Board assists and advises the Dauphin County Commissioners and the Administrator of Children & Youth in providing and promoting the welfare and protection of the children and youth in the county and in performing any other related functions that may be assigned.  The Board consists of 9-13 members chosen from various religious, professional, industrial, education, cultural, and racial groups. 

Meetings are held at least six times annually.

Julie Mack

Conservation District Board of Directors

The Board establishes the direction and policy of the Conservation District and focuses on the soil and water management concerns within the county.

Meetings are held first Thursday of each month.

Eric Naguski, Conservation District Manager

Penn State Extension

The Penn State Extension is an affiliate of Penn State University.  Penn State Extension is a modern educational organization dedicated to delivery science-based information to people, businesses, and communities.  We provide access to face-to-face and online education to our customers – when they want it, where they want it, and how they want it – to help them address problems and take advantage of opportunities for improvement and innovation.  Partnering with and funded by federal, state and county governments, we have a long tradition of bringing unbiased support and education to the citizens of Dauphin County and Pennsylvania.  We make a difference locally through focused engagement, and more widely to customers connecting in the digital landscape. 

Members are elected at the Council Meetings.

Samantha Robison

Fort Hunter Board of Trustee

The Board of Trustees manage a trust fund and set policy for 10 acres of historic Fort Hunter according to the tenants set forth by the indenture donating the property to Dauphin County in 1980.  The Board consists of seven members; six of which are appointed by the Dauphin County Commissioners and the seventh elected as Chairman by the Trustees.

Meetings are held quarterly at Fort Hunter Park.

Carl Dickson, Director
Dauphin County Parks & Recreation Dept.

General Authority Board

The Dauphin County General Authority was created by the Dauphin County Board of Commissioners for the following purpose:  The acquiring, holding, constructing, improving, maintaining, and operating, owning, and leasing, either in the capacity of lessor or lessee, projects of the kind and character contemplated by law for a general-purpose authority, as authorized and permitted by, and as limited by provisions of the Pennsylvania Municipal Authorities Act, as amended.  The Authority board consists of five members appointed by the Dauphin County Commissioners.  Each member is appointed for a five-year term, staggered and may be reappointed thereafter.

Meetings are held the third Wednesday of each month.

Cynthia L. Boratko, Executive Director

Library System Board of Trustees 

The Library System Board of Trustees operates the public library system, striving to assure public access to information and materials that educate, enrich, enlighten and entertain.  The Board is comprised of 17 members; 12 are elected and 5 appointed by the Dauphin County Board of Commissioners.  

Meetings are held at the Madeline Olewine Memorial Library the third Tuesday of each month at noon.

DCLS Board President
101 Walnut Street
Harrisburg, PA  17101

Mental Health and Intellectual Disabilities Advisory Board

 The Dauphin County Mental Health/Intellectual Disabilities Advisory Board’s purpose is to review and evaluate mental health and intellectual disabilities services, programs and needs. The Board also assists with hiring the MH/ID Administrator in compliance with the Mental Health/Intellectual Disabilities Act of 1966.  The Board provides input on publicly funded MH/ID programs, services, and advises the Administrator and the County MH/ID Program Staff on matters relating to MD/ID services in the County. The Board, through its MH and ID Committees also reviews the performance of the MH/ID program and recommends a system of program evaluation.  The Board consists of 13 members representing many different community groups that are focused on MH/ID.

Meetings are held every other month.

Dan Eisenhauer

 Solid Waste Advisory Committee

The Advisory Committee promotes an effective Solid Waste Management Plan and advises Dauphin County with recommendations when necessary.  The Committee consists of 13 members, including county officials and members of local organizations. 

Meetings are held as required.

Keith Kepler, Director

Planning Commission

 The Planning Commission prepares and maintains the County’s comprehensive plan, reviews all subdivision and land development plans proposed to the County, and advises the County Commissioners on issues relating to the development of Dauphin County.  The Commission consists of ten members, including a County Commissioner.

Meetings are held the first Monday of each month.

Steve Deck

Affordable Housing Trust Fund Advisory Board / First Time Home Buyers Program

Dauphin County offers down payment assistance for Dauphin County first time home buys that meet the qualification criteria.  The program is overseen by the Affordable Housing Trust Fund Advisory Board.

Terry Haines