IN RE: TEMPORARY REASSIGNMENT OF CASES FROM MAGISTERIAL DISTRICT COURT 12-2-01

: IN THE COURT OF COMMON PLEAS : DAUPHIN COUNTY PENNSYLVANIA

: NO. 10-10-MD-2025 : NO. 2025-CV-0316-AO : NO. 2225-0001 : AO-10-2025

ORDER

11:11 H 6- TAL WHEREAS a vacancy has arisen in Magisterial District Court 12-2-01 due to the unexpected and tragic passing of The Honorable Michael J. Smith.

WHEREAS the efficient administration of the entire 12th Judicial District depends on the efficient administration of cases arising in Magisterial District Court 12-2-01.

IT IS HEREBY ORDERED AND DECREED that, pursuant to Pennsylvania Rule of Judicial Administration 605(A)(5), certain cases heretofore filed in Magisterial District Court 12-2-01 shall be filed and/or heard in alternate Magisterial District Courts as follows:

- a) Effective July 14, 2025, all new cases emanating from Lower Swatara Township shall be filed in, and heard by, Magisterial District Court 12-2-03, presided over by The Honorable David H. Judy.
- b) Effective July 14, 2025, all new cases emanating from Highspire Borough shall be filed in, and heard by, Magisterial District Court 12-2-03, presided over by The Honorable David H. Judy.
- c) Effective July 14, 2025, all new cases emanating from Swatara Township Precincts Eight (8), Nine (9), and Ten (10) shall be filed in, and heard by, Magisterial District Court 12-2-02, presided over by The Honorable Kenneth A. Lenker.

- d) Effective July 14, 2025, all new criminal and non-traffic cases emanating from events occurring at, or on the grounds of, Dauphin County Prison, shall be filed in, and heard by, Magisterial District Court 12-2-02, presided over by The Honorable Kenneth A. Lenker.
- e) Effective July 14, 2025, all new cases arising from traffic stops on Paxton Street and Route 322 within Swatara Township, excepting the portion of Route 322 between Wister Street and the Eisenhower Interchange, shall be filed in, and heard by, Magisterial District Court 12-2-02, presided over by The Honorable Kenneth A.
 Lenker. It is the intention of the Court for this provision to apply to criminal and nontraffic cases that occur following a traffic stop regardless of which Precinct the traffic stop is ultimately effectuated in, and the underlying conduct occurs.
- f) Any criminal cases filed in an alternate Magisterial District Court pursuant to this Order that are held for court following a Preliminary Hearing shall be assigned to the Court of Common Pleas judge affiliated with the newly assigned Magisterial District Court.
- g) Nothing in this Order shall impact any existing Magisterial District Court case assignments not expressly detailed herein.
- h) The provisions of this Order shall only apply to cases filed on or after July 14, 2025. Any cases pending as of that date shall remain with the originally designated
 Magisterial District Court, and pending criminal cases that are held for court following
 a Preliminary Hearing shall be assigned to the Court of Common Pleas judge affiliated
 with that Magisterial District Court.
- The provisions of this Order shall remain in effect through December 31, 2025, unless continued by a supplemental Order of Court.

This order shall be deemed sufficient to authorize all actions necessary to implement its

provisions.

BY THE COURT:

Scott Arthur Evans, President Judge

Distribution: President Judge Scott Arthur Evans Judge Deborah E. Curcillo Judge Andrew H. Dowling Judge William T. Tully Judge Edward M. Marsico, Jr. Judge John Joseph McNally Judge Royce L. Morris Judge Jeffrey B. Engle Judge Courtney K. Powell Stephen B. Libhart, District Court Administrator Magisterial District Judge Dale E. Klein, Esq. Magisterial District Judge David H. Judy, Esq. Magisterial District Judge Dominic A. Pelino Magisterial District Judge Rebecca J. Margerum, Esq. Magisterial District Judge William Wenner Magisterial District Judge Kenneth A. Lenker Magisterial District Judge Marian Urrutia Magisterial District Judge Hanif L. Johnson Magisterial District Judge Paul T. Zozos Magisterial District Judge Mikaela Sloan Magisterial District Judge J. Matthew Pianka Magisterial District Judge Wendy J. F. Grella, Esq. Magisterial District Court 12-2-01 Magisterial District Court 12-2-04 Magisterial District Court 12-0-00 Magisterial District Court 12-0-01 Justin Douglas, Commissioner, Chair Mike Pries, Commissioner, Vice-Chair George P. Harwick, III, Commissioner, Secretary Eric Hagarty, Chief Clerk Matthew Owens, Esq., Solicitor Francis Chardo, Esq., District Attorney Patti Sites, Clerk of Courts Mary L. Klatt, Esq., Public Defender Gregory Briggs, Dauphin County Prison

JUL 0 9 2015

true and correct copy of the original

allhew-R Kreypp honotary

Troy Petery, Deputy Court Administrator - Criminal Jennifer Simpson, Deputy Court Administrator – Human Resources Sara Shaffer, Deputy Court Administrator – Civil Jamira Williams, Deputy Court Administrator – Magisterial District Judges Chief Corey Dickerson, Dauphin County Criminal Investigative Division Pennsylvania State Police – Troop H Chief Mark Stonbraker, Highspire Police Department Chief Thomas Bell, Jr., Lower Swatara Township Police Superintendent Thomas Stauffer, Swatara Township Police Highspire Borough Manager, 640 Eshelman Street, Highspire, PA 17034 Lower Swatara Township Manager, 1499 Spring Garden Drive, Middletown, PA 17057 Swatara Township Chief of Staff, 599 Eisenhower Boulevard, Harrisburg, PA 17111